Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Aug 17, 2005, 4:00 AM   #1

Hey all, I'm new to DSLRs and have owned my D70 w/24-85mm F3.5-4.5 Gtype Nikon lens for about a month. Last night I shot some basketball at the local sports centre. I run the basketball associations website and intend to shoot all the league's images this season.

I tried shooting on sports mode but it limited the shutter speed to 1/30 which obviously wasnt quick enough. So I switched to S mode and set the shutter speed to 1/100 which is just about quick enough but gives you slight motion blur. I then set the ISO to auto but it had to go up to 1600 in order to get enough light. The images look alright brightness wise but they are obviously fairly grainy due to the high ISO. I don't really want to use the flash.

I used the lens at 24mm most of the time to take advantage of the faster F3.5 apperture but it didnt help much. I guess my only option is to buy a faster prime lens. After shooting yesterday I realised that 50mm is far too much zoom as I am on the sidelines and baselines when I am shooting, about 3-7 metres away from the action. So I'm really looking for a fast 35mm prime.

Does anyone have any ideas which ones perform well? And have I analysed my problem correctly or am I looking at it the wrong way?

Thanks in advance
Matt_Skillett is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2005, 8:33 AM   #2