Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Feb 2, 2006, 3:08 PM   #1

To all the great photographers out there: I am a capableamateur photographer with a D70s, looking to buy a fast prime to add to the 18-70 and 70-300 lenses that came with the D70s kit.

The question is which focal length is most usable? I tend to be frustrated with the smaller aperture of the 18-70 late afternoon or early evening, when I want to take pictures of friends or the kids as they are having fun. A flash just intrudes too much.

Which would you recommend, taking the 1.5 multiplication of the D70 into account? I must add that the 50mm 1.8 is such a cost effective solution that it is top of my list at the moment!

Vincent
Sundance kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2006, 4:57 PM   #2

I think the 50 f/1.8 is just too good of a lens, and just so inexpensive, that it belongs in everyone's camera bag. It can be had for under $100 and is useful under a lot of circumstances. If you needed a something a little wider you could go with a 28 prime, which gets you a little closer to the 'normal' focal length. I only own two prime lenses, the 50 and the 105mm f/1.8 micro. I'd like to add a 20mm for landscape work sometime in the future.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2006, 6:46 PM   #3

I'd recommend the 35/2. I'm assuming that you'll be using the lens indoors, hence the need for a fast prime.

The 50 tends to be too long in my experience (depends on the size of your home and the rooms inside, of course). Nevertheless, at the price it doesn't hurt to have it. It's certainly much more useful outdoors.

I wouldn't recommend the 28/2.8, which is a full stop slower than the 35/2 and will make available light photography a bit harder (unless of course rjseeney was referring to the 28/1.4, which is a rather pricey lens, though of superior quality).