Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Mar 2, 2006, 7:26 PM   #1

Hi,
I'm pretty new to photography and found this forum full of gurus. I just bought a D50 with kit-lens and wants to do more. So, I'm on the hunt for right lens for about $1000 that will suffice my needs. I found lots of lens and looks none of the lens is perfect.
some has "barrel distortion", "vignetting", "soft picture", "bokeh", "light fall off" and blah blah. Can somebody points me to a place that will describe these things and help me decide what distortions are OK/correctable.
I need to take sharp photos close to what Pros get. I'm intersted in taking potraits and birds photographs. I'm planning to buy TC17 teleconverter later.
Any suggestions. Yes I already looked review on 18-200VR and I read as bad comment about it as there are goods about it.
chhetri_inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 2, 2006, 9:34 PM   #2
rey

Since you're a Nikon guy, I'll point you to the Zen Master, err Ken Master:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/index.htm

He has lots of info, (yes, a lot are bias), but I wish there's a Canon guy just like him!

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2006, 9:47 PM   #3

I already saw lots of lens review on this side. And he even says kit lens(18-55) is great, thats why I wonder then why the heck people spend $1000+ on other kens ??? thats why I asked this question

Old Mar 3, 2006, 2:31 AM   #4