Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Apr 23, 2006, 8:48 PM   #1

Just got a used Nikon D100 andAF-S Nikkor 24-85mm G ED lens. This lens was sold to me at a very low price so I decided to use this first for learning. I think that this lens is mainly for portrait, but I would like to have more flexibility with taking pictures. I also like to take close-ups photos and outdoor photos. I noticed when I took pictures outdoors the photos appeared to have blurred parts that were not in the center. Is this because of the limitation of the lens that it is only for specific lengths like for portrait?

For close-ups like taking pictures of a leaf's texture or a rose thorn what would be the best type of lens? What is the difference with zoom lens and macro lens? Sorry I'm a complete newbie with lenses and don't even know what the numbers in lenses and its specs mean.

I found this site who is also into photography and I got interested to what type of lens would also be best for the kind of pictures taken by this guy. The site is:

http://braincrap.deviantart.com/gallery/

Any help would be appreciated.
reynaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2006, 11:17 PM   #2

I don't know much of a technical nature about lenses, but I'll offer some advice:

I think the D100 has a 1.5X magnification factor, so your lens would have a focal length of about 36-128mm with a 35mm film SLR. This is a good range for an "all-around" lens as it gives you medium wide angle to short telephoto range.