Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Apr 29, 2006, 11:06 AM   #1

Hi all,

Well, I'm anxious to try using a macro lens with my new Nikon D50. I'm wondering if anybody can offer suggestions for a good macro lens (brand, type, etc) for a good price (I'm a school teacher! LOL)

I'll worry about looking for them later... right now I just want some names and suggestions.

Thanks SO MUCH for your help.
TedM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 29, 2006, 7:21 PM   #2

If your wallet is as thin as mine you're looking for excellent quality for a low price. I would check out a used Tamron 90mm macro. I purchase mine from KEH a couple of months ago for $275.00 shipped. It's like new and incredibly sharp. There are many others, but it's hard to go wrong with this lens. Woody
woodysworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2006, 12:49 AM   #3

Thanks for responding, Woody.

That is an incredible photo! It's surreal! I can only wonder how you happened to notice that little critter hidden there.

Many are suggesting the Nikon 60mm Macro lens... it's about $400 at b&h video. Phew...

Then I read on Amazon.com that it may be better to get 105mm for insects so I don't have to move in as close.

So much still to learn!

Thanks again for responding!
Old Apr 30, 2006, 5:43 AM   #4

I bought a 50mm Sigma macro lens in preference to the Nikon 60mm. It's about 1/2 the price and the quality is excellent.

Attached Images

Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2006, 8:57 AM   #5