Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 10, 2006, 10:57 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

I dont mean to 'steal' the thread, but it appears that the answer for the original question was found.What I'm curious about is if everyone's Sigma moves if pointed at the sky...i.e. shooting at 200mm pointed upwards causes the lens to turn.* Conversely, pointing downwards causes the lens to come out..i.e. shooting at 18mm pointed at the floor causes the lens to creep downwards.Just curious.
Wowzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 12:47 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Wowzer wrote:
Quote:
I dont mean to 'steal' the thread, but it appears that the answer for the original question was found.What I'm curious about is if everyone's Sigma moves if pointed at the sky...i.e. shooting at 200mm pointed upwards causes the lens to turn.� Conversely, pointing downwards causes the lens to come out..i.e. shooting at 18mm pointed at the floor causes the lens to creep downwards.Just curious.
Ya I noticed that gravity made it a lot EASIER to turn, It doesn't turn on its own, but if it loosens up much more then it probably will. And the zoom lock only works at 18mm so its kind of useless..



"you must have misunderstood. My point was that the Sigma is a grand lens for above average light conditions. Yourshots are great and the light conditions you had when you shot them are pretty good."

I know what you mean, but I wouldn't have called that the best lighting conditions either. It was late in the evening and I only used ISO 200 and 400. Because of the apperature I see your point, but daytime outdoors the lens is fine, its the night shots and late dusk / early dawn that you would need a tripod.
Lexiticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 1:15 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

So this means that my lens is loose.* I just bought it, does this mean that Sigma will 'fix' it for free?BTW- Lex, those are awesome pictures. Do you have the shot data for these pictures loaded as well?
Wowzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 2:35 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Wowzer wrote:
Quote:
So this means that my lens is loose.� I just bought it, does this mean that Sigma will 'fix' it for free?BTW- Lex, those are awesome pictures. Do you have the shot data for these pictures loaded as well?
I'm not sure if sigma will fix it, But you can email or call them and ask, Because mine definitely isn't loose enough to turn on its own.

The EXIF data should be still in the pictures, you might have to download the full size pic to see it though (in an EXIF viewer), but on my website there should be at least the Shutter speed and apperature of each picture (Just below the picture)

Thanks for the comments
Lexiticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 9:18 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
pagerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 483
Default

Inside I never use auto white balance on any camera. On the three pictures I could see more improvement because they all look wrong assuming the wall is white.

I did a colorcast(white balance)fix in PSEon all three images and if you assume the light switch is white they all turn out the same.
pagerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.