Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jul 8, 2003, 12:12 PM   #1

Default need help selecting 2x or 3x lens for CP5000

I have been enjoying my CP5000 for a couple of months now. In a couple of weeks I will be going to the drag races and this is one of the few times I will need more zoom. Based on the few reviews I have been able to find I would like to stick with either of Nikon's telephoto lenses (TC-E2 or the TC-E3ED). I have not been able to find a side-by-side comparison of the 2 lenses to help me make a descision. Can someone either point me to a good review, or make a recommendation?

Up until a couple of years ago I used my Dad's Canon 35mm SLR. It had a 110mm zoom lens and on occasion I would use a lens doubler adapter. Without the doubler I didn't have quite enough zoom. With it I was limited to areas of the track I could shoot and get the whole car (dragster) in the frame. The doubler was great for getting burnout shots of the sportsman (non-professional drivers with heavily modified street cars) classes though.

I have alway's used a polarized filter to combat the glare off the tire smoke and shine off the cars, track, walls, etc. Does a polarized filter exist for either of these lenses?

I've been taking a camera with me to the races since drag racing since high school, so panning has become simple with my Dad's camera. Given the slower shutter, and a tripod is out of the question, would a monopod be usefull? I've never used a monopod before, so I don't know how much stability it will add.

Thanks in advance for the help.
estill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2003, 12:28 AM   #2

Default Re: need help selecting 2x or 3x lens for CP5000

Quote:
Originally Posted by estill