Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Nov 1, 2003, 9:14 PM   #1

Default Nikon Coolpix 2100 - a big letdown

Note that I'm a novice in the digital camera field (intermediate at best with SLR's). This is my first digital camera and some of my complaints could very well be operator error - but... despite the rave reviews here and elsewhere about this camera I'm really disappointed with it. I got it yesterday. The first one was a dud. I got the replacement today and here's a list of complaints I have about it:

1) The term "point and shoot" for this camera should really be: "Point. Wait for focus. Shoot". You're cat (dog, kid, friend, whatever) is doing something cute, forget trying to capture a particular moment because by the time the camera focuses, you've lost the moment.

2) Out of the 75 or so shots I've taken so far I'd say at least 20 of those would not come into focus at all. Period. And for no apparent reason.

3) The camera goes into "pause" after 30 seconds of inactivity so let's say you've got the camera powered up, you see a potentially good shot - Oh! Criminy! First gotta reboot the power, then gotta wait for the &*%#@ thing to focus - oh! Time's up! You miss another shot.