Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old May 29, 2009, 4:40 PM   #1

Default Filter kit for the P90

I read GTToths post on the filter issue and went down to my shop to figure. Came up with a 41mm ID on the P90 lens housing. But no threads. I just ordered a 40.5mm to 43mm step ring and am considering fixing it to the camera lens housing. That would allow the use of 43mm fliters. It should also protect the fixed lens and eliminate the need for a lens cap. I know the factory lens cap won't fit over the step ring, but may be able to find something that will work. The main issue will be how to fix the step ring to the lens housing. Once the part arrives I'll figure that out. I'm thinking epoxy if its a tight fit and maybe double face tape if its a looser fit. I'm a novice photographer but a crack pot fabricator and like to work out fixes for weird situations.
featherhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2009, 6:23 PM   #2

Keep us updated on your progress.

My P90 was just delivered today.

mahoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 6:39 PM   #3

Will do. I just finished playing with an L100 for 9 days, deciding to return it to BB for the P90. They had the P90 in stock so I did a exchange. My last camera purchase was decades ago so I wanted to buy as far into the future as possible. The features are truly amazing.
Old May 29, 2009, 7:10 PM   #4

featherhead-

Your proposed adaption sounds like it will work quite well. Join us over on the continuing P-90 thread, we certainly welcome your input and perhaps we can help you as well, as you are becoming used to your new Nikon P-90 camera.

We will look forward to more posts on your diy filter adapter.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2009, 3:03 PM   #5