Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Nov 10, 2003, 9:51 PM   #1

Default Received my CP 5700 today, have a question

I was expecting my 5700 in a retail box. I ordered it online. I received the camera in a plain cardboard box , about 6.5"x8.5"x 10.5". There is nothing on the outside of the box, except a white sticker with the words Nikon and coolpix 5700. This box was inside the shipping carton.
The camera is in the center of the box, with other items around it. Is this the way the camera is packed when it is shipped? Is this a new camera, "open package", or reconditioned item? Your help please. I am new to digitial camers and want to get things right.
Thanks, bobj
bobj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 11, 2003, 2:41 AM   #2

Default Packaging

My 5700 was just delivered today as well. It came in a white box that looked like the sort of box that a new item comes in (with pictures of the camera on the outside of the box).

Sounds like yours is refurbished. If you don't have the original box with the UPC and the serial number I don't think you can get the $100 rebate from Nikon.

-Eric
oswaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 8:19 AM   #3

bobj

A new camera should have come in a Nikon box. What you describe does sound like it came in the original packing. I would first contact Nikon to determine if the camera is new and carries full warranty coverage. Then contact the seller and then contact your credit card company if not satisified.

Phil
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 9:13 AM   #4

Sounds like something is wrong and you can't live with it. Contact Nikon immediately for a check!
Good luck.
Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2003, 12:17 AM   #5

Default thanks all