Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Dec 14, 2003, 1:43 PM   #1

Default Coolpix 5700 telephoto not stabilized ?

Hello,
I am new at digital photography.I have a Mavica FD-97 and i like the Steady Shot feature that allows me to take pictures at full zoom without a tripod.
I have read some reviews that none of the 5 megapixel cameras nowadays have the zoom stabilized anymore.I like to take pictures of birds and other wildlife,and i was able to do so with my Mavica.Is it true that the Coolpix is not stabilized?.I guess,i am looking for some help here,because i am not sure if i really need that or not.Any thoughts?

Thank You.
Abyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 14, 2003, 2:35 PM   #2

Default Re: Coolpix 5700 telephoto not stabilized ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abyss
I have read some reviews that none of the 5 megapixel cameras nowadays have the zoom stabilized anymore.
The Minolta A1, a 5mp camera, has the anti-shaking feature built-in the camera by moving the sensor rather than in the lens. The effect is the same, although the A1 may not be as effective as those SLR lenses with IS (Canon) and VR (Nikon) features. So, if you need such feature, the Minolta A1 is your only choice for now.

Quote:
I like to take pictures of birds and other wildlife,and i was able to do so with my Mavica.Is it true that the Coolpix is not stabilized?.I guess,i am looking for some help here,because i am not sure if i really need that or not.Any thoughts?
No, the 5700 has no image stabilization. Currently, only Minolta A1 has this feature. However, one must keep in mind that IS or VR is less effective if the camera is mounted on a tripod. If you shoot birds with your camera on a tripod, any 5mp camera with longer zoom plus tele converters will do the job well.

CK
http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam
Nikon Coolpix 950/990/995/2500/4500 User Guide
shene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2003, 6:42 PM   #3