Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Dec 16, 2003, 2:56 PM   #1

Default NIKON 5700 vs 5400 V Sony DSCV1 V Cannon G5

Hello

My first posting on this site. As far as my prior equipment, I own a Nikon N70 with Tamarac lens. I am now interested in purchasing a 5MP digital camera (ultimately buying a mega megapixel digital SLR in the future). I have done research online, including www.dpreview.com and www.megapixel.net.

First, between a Nikon 5700 and a Nikon 5400, which would you recommend (I like the 8X zoom capability of the Nikon 5700 which would eliminate the need to purchase additional lens accessories for the short term)? Then take that model and how does it hold up vs. the Sony DSC-V1 vs. the Cannon G5? I am leaning towards the Nikon 5700. Any opinions and comments are appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
atserafini is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2003, 3:00 PM   #2

I have no experience with the Sony model but I would rate the 5700 above the G5. The 5700 is a great camera and the prices are very affordable at this time. The G5 has had clamoring of noise issues from review sites and users.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2003, 10:06 AM   #3

Default Nikon 5700 (continued)

Thanks for your quick reply Phil.

Regarding the 5700, I have read that you can buy filters for it (polarizing, neutral-density and the like) if you purchase an adaptor. Is this true? I would love to protect the lens if I buy the camera. If true, where can I purchase the adaptor (and lenses).

As far as size, how does it compare, say, to a Nikon N70 or similar SLR (or digital cameras for that matter). Most stores in my area (Washington state) do not have it in stock...

I would assume you would also recommend a 256 MB storage media too (or do you have other recommendations.

Thanks again for your observations and comments.

Andrew
Old Dec 17, 2003, 10:40 AM   #4

Andrew