Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Sep 13, 2002, 10:43 AM   #1

Default More 5700 and external flash questions

I realize this issue has been discussed here and in the external flash forum, but I need a little more reassurance/information. I appreciate your indulgence and any help you can provide.

I'm not an expert photographer by any means, but I'm a little beyond novice also. I just bought a Nikon 5700. I want to buy an external flash for it.

It seems to me that a high guide number is important, to take advantage of the zoom that the 5700 has. It also seems to me that since the 5700 does not communicate with the external flash, it's important to get a flash with manual power settings to be able to reduce the flash power for closer shooting, especially with a flash with a high guide number. Similarly, it seems like manual zoom is important, for similar reasons.

I've seen commments here that some external flashes do not disable the built-in flash and others do; I certainly want to get one that disables the built-in flash.

With all that in mind, and taking into account what I've already read in this forum, I'm considering the following flashes:
Sunpak 433D
Sunpak 355F
Sunpak 433AF
Sunpak PZ4000AF
Sunpak PZ5000AF
Vivitar 850AF
Vivitar 840AF
Vivitar 730AF
Vivitar 728AF

I spoke to someone at Sigma who told me that Sigma makes no flashes that support the 5700.

I realize several of these flashes have features that cannot be used by the 5700, but it seems like I almost have to buy features I can't use to get the ones that I need.

Having almost certainly exposed my ignorance in this analysis, I'd appreciate any help and advice anyone could give me about which flash units make sense to use with the 5700.

Thanks in advance,
Rodney
RNYerby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 13, 2002, 12:21 PM   #2