Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Sep 24, 2004, 5:36 AM   #1

Hi,
I am a dentist and would like to buy some camera for taking pictures of teeth of my patients. I am confused about which camera to buy. I am considering the coolpix 4500 and the kodak 6490. The coolpix 4500 has a min distance of .75 inch and the 6490 has 12 - 70cm of min distance. But 6490 has 10X zoom and 4500 has 4x zoom. CAn anyone suggest which camera to buy for to enable me to take close up of teeth. My budget is around 400$ +_ 100$. I think 4500 will be better as the min dist is .75 inch. Not sure. An y other camera suggestions are also welcome.
Thanks,
Ajay..
AJAYSOLUCKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2004, 10:56 AM   #2
Administrator

Ajay:

One of the problems you'll have trying to photograph teeth indoors is lighting.

Shutter speeds will be too slow without some kind of dedicated lighting and the camera flash will cause too much glare for this purpose.

I found a post from Lin Evans from a couple of years back mentioning theusingthe Digi-Slave RF-50 Macro Ring Flash for this purpose (it seems that it might be preferrable over the Cool-light SL-1 Macro light).

The Digi-Slave RF-50Ring Flash sells for around $200.00 online in the U.S.

Here is a page with a sample photo of intraoral photography with it:

http://www.srelectronics.com/rf50.html

The Coolpix 4500 uses 28mm filter threads. So, it looks like you'll need some kind of adapter for using a light like this (which may impact your closest focus distance). You may want to send an e-amil to srelectronics.com to ask them about how it's packaged for use with the CP 4500.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2004, 1:37 AM   #3

Hi Jim