Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Sep 26, 2004, 3:08 PM   #1

I am no expert on cameras and do not have the technical background to trouble shoot the issues I'm having with my camera, but I'll do my best to describe the issue. Out of the blue, the camera, in autofocus, will not allow me to take more than one picture witout a very long delay (fully charged battery) and then, at times, the button I depress to take the picture stays flush to the camera and seems to be locked down. If I turn the camera off and on, I can get the button to release. The only function I attempted to use other than straight "auto focus" picture taking was I selected the "close" up feature on the back of the camera, and got the yellow flower. I then get warning message that I can barely read before it turns off. I then reset the modes to 'factory' setting, and experienced the same problem. Once the pics are taken, they seem to be fine and as sharp as before. But, needing to wait for 20 or more seconds between shots and than having to turn it off and on is a pain. I do get a flashing green "auto focus" light between shots. For anybody out there that can make sense of my explanation, I would love some feedback. I am out of warranty on this camera. So, it's my nickle if I have to send it in. Thanks!!!
golfergirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 27, 2004, 3:00 PM   #2
Administrator

Well, I don't own the 4300. The shutter button sticking sounds very odd.

As for the long delays, etc., (if it's not a mechanical problem with the shutter button), I'd try a different memory card to see if it could be defective. You may also want to try formatting the card (always with the camera menus, not the PC).

You may also want to try adifferent battery if you have one available.

I'd also try using all switches, buttons, mode dial, etc. (just in case you have some oxidation under one of the contacts causing odd problems).