Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 2, 2004, 8:55 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Could somebody tell me if it's possible that a failed firmware update could damage a camera, leading to internal part replacement?

Camera model: coolpix 995

Much appreciated.


leeroyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 2, 2004, 10:11 AM   #2
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah, GA (USA)
Posts: 22,378
Default

IMO, No.

The firmware is like the camera's operating system (stored in and read from EEPROM), and should not have anything to do with a part failure.

Did your camera fail during a firmware update, and now Nikon says that a part needs replacing?

I guess it's possible that a part was already bad, and their diagnostics found it when troubleshooting (but I'd still be pretty skeptical, and escalate theissue to a Supervisor or Manager). What part is supposed to be bad (is it the EEPROM or a related component needed to update it with new firmware)?





JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2004, 11:10 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Hi thanks,

Yes the camera has stopped working due to a failed firmware upgrade (camera's LCD screen went grey mid-flash). And failed to read any compact flash from then on rendering the camera useless.

I was told by a nikon repair centre that my failed update could have damaged the main-board, thus needing a replacement.

Well, it's in for a service currently, which includes the fix for the firmware, as you advised I will be taking the issue to management if indeed some camera internals have to be replaced.:evil:

Appreciated Jim.
leeroyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2004, 10:47 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

And they have fixed your camera ?

Please let me know because i do have the same problem (but mine's a Kodak DC240).

Answer to my email; [email protected]
xslashx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2004, 4:19 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

My camera was fixed by the service center, however I had to pay over £100 pounds.

Which I thought was a bit steep for somebody to simply re-install a software firmware.

Hope you have better luck with yours.

I am trying to take the issue to nikon management, have asked nikon via email for contact information for their complaints dept. and management contact but they seem to be ignoring me, which I have to say doesn't suprise me one bit!!

I am getting into digital photography as I will be in a position of using a high-mp digicam for work starting in 6 months, I think I will be staying well away from the nikon brand.

Good luck with yours, maybe Kodak value their customers a bit more.

Lee

leeroyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 2:48 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I know that failed Firmware update will fail camera operation and it need to repair by service center. I guess they don't have the programer device for the main chip, thus they have to replace the main chip with a new one. I heardthat service centersofotherbrands like Canon also do the same with cameras. (in a case of my friend they changed the main board of Canon A70!!) I think although changing an element for software is non logical :?, but it is routine for digital cameras.
mr_shahbazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 4:03 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Well if that is the case, then that is very very bad and foolish design. I find it hard to believe that a company would produce an expensive piece of equipment with a flashable firmware and not include a safety means to update this firmware.

My camera didn't need any replacement parts, so the service center must have had alternative means to replace the firmware, maybe there is some kind of specialised connector on the main board for service testing and firmware maintenance etc.

Well I am after a pro digital soon, and if this is true about the canons then I will think twice before purchasing one.


leeroyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:09 AM.