Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Nov 20, 2002, 9:32 PM   #1

Default Please Help with low lighting Problem

I have a Nikon Coolpix 5000. My home is not very well lit. And my pictures are dark. I am not sure what to do or what settings to use to compensate for the low lighting in my home. I would appreciate any help you could offer. I am sorta new to digitals!
Thanks!
Wanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2002, 9:42 PM   #2

Are you sure the flash is on?
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2002, 9:53 PM   #3

Default Nikon 5000 low lighting Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCan
Are you sure the flash is on?
Yes the flash is on. I am a novice, so I am sure it is me, and there is a setting that needs to be adjusted, I just don't know where to start.
Old Nov 20, 2002, 11:09 PM   #4

Hum...
A "good start" may be puting everything in auto, you should see a P ( programed exposure) unstead of a M ( manual) , may be the cam was left at manual mode last time ? just a guess since I don't know that cam.
Old Nov 21, 2002, 6:39 AM   #5

I agree with KCan... try using Automatic Mode, if you are in user setting #1, #2 or #3, use P (Auto Prog. Mode) then
goto Set-Up2 -> Speedlight Opt. - > Variable Power.
The value should be 0 (zero), or if you want to add more power, set to +2.0
aurora5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2002, 12:57 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by aurora5000
I agree with KCan... try using Automatic Mode, if you are in user setting #1, #2 or #3, use P (Auto Prog. Mode) then
goto Set-Up2 -> Speedlight Opt. - > Variable Power.
The value should be 0 (zero), or if you want to add more power, set to +2.0