Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Dec 31, 2002, 9:23 PM   #1

Default Nikon 5700 - Rotating images?

Having just purchased a Nikon 5700 I'm still learning the ropes but I can't seem to find how to rotate images from the camera, ie. turn portrait shots to be viewed the right way up for slide show presentations etc. Please help. Thanx if you can!
nikon5700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2002, 11:18 PM   #2

Default Use Edit Feature in Nikon View software

Right-click on the picture after loading it in Nikon View - select the Edit function. You can then rotate the picture clockwise or counter-clockwise.
Covey22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2003, 4:20 PM   #3

Default thanx, but ..... can I rotate the image on the camera?

We have a little Canan A30 Power shot and you can rotate the images on that camera to view them on the lcd so I presumed that with a $2k I should atleast be able to do the same. Do you know if it's possible?
nikon5700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2003, 11:41 AM   #4

Default Not Possible In Camera

Not possible in camera. Sorry! If it makes you feel any better, none of the Nikon DSLRs do it as well. Don't know about the new Kodak DCS14n, but it detects when you're vertically oriented. Whether this actually shows the shot correctly oriented in the LCD preview or only affects the shot when downloaded is another story.
Covey22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2003, 6:30 PM   #5

Just wait till you shoot a quicktime movie in 'potrait'... I can't find a cheap way to rotate them at all.
murlynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2003, 8:07 PM   #6

I shot a quicktime movie in 'potrait' by accident. Is there a way to rotate it? Will Quicktime Pro work?
mysecretworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2003, 10:48 PM   #7

Just use windows XP and right-click on the image, select rotate CW or CCW. Simple as that.