Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jul 14, 2005, 2:08 PM   #1

I am deciding between a Nikon 8800 or a canon or Nikon slr. Does anyone have a opinion on this? Does the 8800 really do that bad with low light conditions?
Thanks

SNC35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2005, 4:38 PM   #2

Hi,

I've been using my E8800 for over 2 months now. According to me, the best features of this camera are:

* ED lens capable of both macro and 10 x zoom providing crisp images and correct colors. 10x is fun to use (Although they say that the digital zoom is worthless, I see that additional 4x digital zoom sometimes yields better photographs, for example the night moon pictures are better when taken with digital zoom).
* VR is amazing; this lets you capture special occasions when a tripod is not handy.
* 8 MP lets you capture very detailed images with the help of the perfect built in optics.
* Ability to adjust almost everything manually. This increases your creativity, and it's also very educative for a newbie in digital photography like me. But full auto or preprogrammed modes are very productive as well when you don't have the time or will to adjust parameters.
* Very beautiful EVF. I rarely use the LCD.
* IR remote is a luxury tool at such a camera.
* The video capture is perfect although I use this very rarely.
* Exposure and WB bracketing and BestShotSelector is very useful.

The drawbacks are:

* The noisy CCD. At higher ISO's, the CCD is prone to produce noise. This prevents you using higher shutter speeds when you need to. You have to keep the ISO around 50 or 100 and use a tripod and longer exposure times for noise free pics.
* The inability to change many of the parameters in Scene modes.