Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jan 27, 2003, 10:17 PM   #1

Default 12 bit color is the best?

Do any of the digital cameras produce better than 12 bit color?

Jim
Jim Ghiringhelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2003, 9:12 AM   #2

This is something I've also wondered. I'd be interested in the answer as well.

To me, this is a much more interested direction to take digital cameras than more and more Megapixes. A camera which could better sample/represent color and record a larger dynamic range (more bits & a good spread of the values.) Make it have less noise at higher ISO's too and it would make many people very happy.
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2003, 12:16 PM   #3
kyb

Hmmm, EXIF says that my pictures have a colordepth of 24 bit (CP 4500), but maybe I am missing something. I'm no expert on such things. 12 bits would only be 4096 colours, which is very low.

Greetings, kyb
kyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2003, 2:08 PM   #4

I've never touched a 4500, but I thought that no CCD in a consumer or (reasonably priced) pro digital camera recorded over 12-bits of color. I can't comment on the digital backs for medium format or the $10,000+ cameras.

The techincal specs on Nikonusa.com didn't say what the bit depth was. And I didn't see it is Steve's review.

I was lead to believe from Bibble's web page that one of the advantages of its software over the PS plugin for loading Nikon raw images is that it did a better job upsampling from 12-bit to 16. Maybe Nikon improved this? Maybe they just upsampled to 24-bit?

A quick google search shows that the D1X is 12-bit, as is the D1 and D100. But the 4500 is newer.... But I'd still be shocked if it did more than 12-bit.

Anyone know the answer?
Old Jan 28, 2003, 3:13 PM   #5

Default comment

Thanks guys.