Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Feb 27, 2003, 9:57 AM   #1

Default Nikon CoolPix 2500 vs Canon A40

I'm interested in the Nikon over the Canon because of the pics I have seen on another web site & as far as flesh tones the Nikons is the best & Macro is MUCH better as well.
My question is this, do I have to look at the screen to take a picture ?? And if so can you see the screen in bright sunlight. and is there a way around this????
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 28, 2003, 2:19 AM   #2

I don't know about Canon; but, Coolpix 2500 has no optical viewfinder and you must use the LCD screen. Depending on the direction sunlight, occasionally image on the LCD screen cannot be seen or may be completely washed out. However, this is not a Coolpix problem; almost all LCDs share the same problem. I have been using the 2500 for several months and found out that this problem is not so significant. In many cases, we can use our hands or add a LCD shade to block the not-so-welcome light. I have a Coolpix 2500 user guide, which still is under-construction. Hope it helps.

CK
http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam
Nikon Coolpix 950/990/995/2500/4500 user guide
[/quote]
shene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2003, 3:02 AM   #3

Default LCD screen

Shene: Other than the LCD problem, on a sunny day, are you happy with it & is there any dislikes about the camera, in other words are you happy with yer purchase of the 2500???
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2003, 4:37 PM   #4

Jaydee,
I own a 2500 and I can say the only problem I have with it is it tends to overexpose using flash at close range or in, macro mode.
If you use macro without the flash, it is great.
I have a black cat, and when I use the flash, he looks sort of gray and his eyes are very bright green or sometimes his eyes look very bright off white.