Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jan 16, 2006, 1:22 AM   #1

I have an 8800. I am a novice user and want to take pictures of my 18 month old toddler. I am finding that many of my shots are coming out unfocused and sometimes it seems the camera actually focuses on something in the background of the shot and not my child. I am also working in marginal light conditions. Have I purchased the wrong camera? What settings should I choose? I feel like Iam missing a lot of great shots.
moma4faith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 17, 2006, 12:01 PM   #2

You have to configure the autofocus such that it selects from 9 fields the one which is closest to the lense. Unfortunately this autofocus mode is slower. In general the Nikon 8800 is an excellent camera, but a little bit slow.
kassandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 2:25 PM   #3

I've had my 8800 for over a year and find that indoor flash shots in low light are a weak point. I rarely shoot in these situations and so it's not really an issue for me. The results I've had with the zoom and macro make the camera worth the investment, but I still use my 3MP Kodak on the rare times I shoot indoors. If you still can, it may be an idea to return the camera and try something else ifflash shots areof majorinterest. I know the store I bought minefrom has a good return policy with a guarantee of customer satisfaction. I'm no expert, but wonder if any camera provides great results in all situations. My humble opinion of the 8800 is that it is best suited to stills outdoors where the zoom and macro can provide really detailed results.

Good luck !

Steve
The Scubbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2006, 3:15 PM   #4

Thanks Steve, but I doubt if the store where I purchased it will take it back. I've had it quite a few months. I am thinking of buying another digital for indoor/low light conditions.
Old Jan 19, 2006, 9:52 PM   #5