Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Apr 18, 2003, 9:03 AM   #1

Default Need help adjusting 3100 for low light pics

I recently purchased a Coolpix 3100 and am very happy with the sharpness of the images. The problem I have is its performance in low light or even just moderately low light.

I have only taken pictures with the auto setting. Can anyone advise me on some different settings I can try to "brighten up" my pictures? The pictures just seem so dark compared to other cameras I have tested.

It also seems to take so long to take a picture, it's like it has to think about it forever before it decides to flash. I am an extreme amateur when it comes to digital cameras but the Sony and the Kodak I have tested were very quick on the draw compared to the Nikon.

I really want to fix these problems with the 3100 (if possible) because that is the camera I want to keep! Do you think if Nikon would have just included an AF assist lamp on the 3100 then these dark pictures would be a non-issue?
Salvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 19, 2003, 8:00 AM   #2

Salvin:

Are you using the LCD or the viewfinder to take your shot? I read on another thread that if you use the viewfinder, it takes much longer. Something to do with the LCD already having the image in focus vs. the viewfinder focusing when you press the shutter button.
Aubrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2003, 11:04 AM   #3

What Salvin says about the LCD being off is correct b/c the camera won't keep the focus continuously witht the LCD off. When you say your pictures are dark, how far away are the subjects you're shooting? ... and your sure you're not blocking the flash either?
mdparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2003, 12:16 PM   #4

Salvin: