Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Sep 3, 2006, 4:07 PM   #1

Anyone got any tips for getting good moon shots on the E500 using the kit lenses,I am new to DSLR having owned the Kyocera M410R,still got it as a backup
atcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 3, 2006, 5:34 PM   #2

Good question...I would like to know myself, having the same set up...Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 6:58 AM   #3

The kit lenses are not long enough. You need something like a 500 mm lens (you will still have to zoom a bit digitally in PhotoShop afterwards) or a telescope.

The moon will sometimes appear large while low over the horizon (you will get some atmospheric disturbance) as in the attached photo: e-300 with the good old Tamron 500/f8 mirror lens with the OM-adapter. Funnily enough: avoid the full moon as the craters look at their best in the area between day and night on the surface.

Shutter speed is not a problem: somewhere between 1/100 and 1/200 at ISO 100, using exposure compensation -0.70 (ESP measuring) as far as I remember.

Attached Images

jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 7:38 AM   #4

Impressive! Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 8:04 AM   #5

Thanks very much Jorgen,that is certainly very impressive.I do'nt want close up shots,I just want something more than a bright white blob when I am doing landscapes
atcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 9:13 AM   #6

Hmmm, then the moon will always be overexposed and become a dot unless you underexpose the landscape to a silhouette: bracket a lot.