Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Sep 7, 2006, 11:09 PM   #1

:? Forgive me if I sound un-knowledgeable about this camera:?....I am still very new to this camera......I'm wondering how I would be able to tell if the lens was not focussing right/correctly........how close can I get to my subject using this lens and still have it focus, and can I use the camera's built in macro settings, or do I use that setting if I have a macro lens attached...Thanks......pls don't laugh at my not knowing.....I admit readily I am in over my head, but I want to learn...:|
Duchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 8, 2006, 12:15 AM   #2

It says it right on the lens, for the 40-150mm it's 1.5m/4.9ft-(infinty).

The built in Macro setting only sets the exposure settings best for closeup shooting (mainly to help those who aren't so experienced). To get closer you need either:
- a closeup lens (sometimes called closeup filters or diopters)
- an extention tube (EX-25)
- a macro lens (like the 35mm or 50mm)
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2006, 8:58 AM   #3

Thanks....I just wanted to make sure as someone I know has this camera as well and he had trouble with that lens......I figured it was me and not the lens.:lol: Do you have a reccomendation for a simple but concise book for learning about this type of photography?
Old Sep 8, 2006, 1:27 PM   #4

Most lenses will say the range that it covers...if it doesn't have a range dial like the 14-54mm it will have it printed on it, like the 14-45mm which says, ".38m/1.3ft-(infinity)".

You may want to consider a video specifically on the E-500 to learn more about it:
http://tinyurl.com/zru79

Personally I've used a (different) video for my E-300, and it has helped me get used to it quicker.