Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:22 PM   #1

I have both the E-500 with the 40-150 kit lens and the panny fz7. I am a novice, I confess, but when I took a portrait of my son today using available light, with both cameras, using aperture mode, wide open, the panny seemed sharper. Is this just the "in house" sharpening of the digicam or is the panasonic leica lens sharper? Thanks, Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:32 PM   #2

You are not seeing things. The Panasonic probably has more in camera sharpening, its lens is smaller, so its easier to make it sharper....
Detectorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:47 PM   #3

Thanks for confirming that. How can I make the e-5oo images sharper...Donna
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:50 PM   #4

There's a sharpening setting, should be in shooting menu 2.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:52 PM   #5

Got it. Had it on +1, went up another notch. I also used a tripod, so I know it wasn't camera shake. donna
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:54 PM   #6

Got it. Had it on +1, went up another notch . I also used a tripod, so I know it wasn't camera shake. Donna
Old Sep 17, 2006, 12:16 AM   #7

Just want to add a word of advice that you may want to use caution with the in camera sharpening and look more towards sharpening in post processing.

One problem with image processing in the camera is that , if overdone, it can be virtually uncorrectible. Sharpening is one of those processes that can easily get out of hand if you don't pay close attention. As image sharpness increases, very fine detail can be lost. Worse, images can develop "halo" or "ringing" artifacts at edges defining areas of high contrast. I'm especially sensitive to that latter problem. Some people don't particularly notice it but it drives me nuts.