Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 2, 2006, 1:22 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-Jorgen

Having gone thru that 'abstraction' and having gone thru all
the choices ... I had shortlisted Nikon D50 and Olympus E-500.

I am a hobbyist ... no intentions of turning into a pro.

Its just that I want to 'iron out' my own confidence after
having known exactly what I'll be buying into.

I am looking for ... well ... value / penny I spend.

Olympus E 500 kit at 500£ caters to my needs as well
as the D50 kit at 550£.

The only remaining issue which I want to clarify ... and because
I have read somewhere about it ... is of being able to manually
focus accurately. (Wouldn't have worried about it hadn't I read
about it all)

But by what you say it seems it shouldn't matter at all. I hope that
comes from a well experienced shooter ...

Uhhh ... anyways ... this post has drifted too far away from the
original subject.

Thanks for the inputs though.

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 2:03 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
jorgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 200
Default

Yes, I understand that you have narrowed it down to d50 and e-500.

What I am saying is that I personally don't think either of us should worry about which future sensors Nikon or Olympus may and may not make. I don't believe it will matter to you and me.

I can't remember what I personally didn't like about the d50, but based from a picture of it: Can you change metering method between spot and ESP metering from a button on the d50?
Can you change focussing spots without having to go to the menu system?

jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 2:30 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-jorgen

No ... I'll have to go thru the menus in D50

In E 500 ... there are dedicated buttons for that.

(This is kinda getting interesting ... walk me thru this)

And the thing about the dust removal system in E 500.
I am not sure how long will I stay in UK. Eventually I
will be returning back to my hometown ... New Delhi in India.

I dunno how effective the dust removal system is but it
might be of some value coz back home is dusty. :roll:

Hey jorgen ... whats been your list of features in your
camera ?

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 3:00 AM   #44
Senior Member
 
jorgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 200
Default

walk me thru this

I do most of the following is intuitively but if I spell it out: Before taking a photo, I study the motive closely. I then decide on the settings: which metering method (ESP or spot). If I have to use a menu to change this, I have to concentrate on that task rather than the motive. On the e-300, I can press a button and turn a wheel without thinking too much about what I do; I don't even need to take my eye away from the viewfinder (though I do) as I can see the new setting in there while turning the wheel.

The same is the case with the +/-, ISO, autofocus (single, continuous, manual ...), white balance, photo size and focussing spots.

I use the +/- and ISO extensively; I often change the metering method and sometimes the focussing spots. I hardly ever change the picture size or the white balance, so having buttons for those are not important to me; however, other people seems to adjust WB very often.

Other people often lock up the mirror when using a tripod to avoid shake. I don't, but people who do would want to be able to set this feature easily in the menu (Canon 20d for example hides this somewhere obscure in the menu).

Hope the above makes sense.

Dust is not just the coarse stuff on the ground. You will certainly also find dust in the UK: The sensor is static electric and therefore attract tiny dust particles of any kind and every time you change a lens, dust can come in. The Olympus SSWF system is very efficient as I have yet to see any dust on the sensor (knock on wood!) though I often change lenses.

jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 9:29 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-jorgen

Thanks a lot for the description ...

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 11:30 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
jorgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 200
Default

Revisiting dust: This is what a Nikon user writes:

Quote:
For dust on CCD. Well, not all. IF you want change lenses: before clean lenses and inside house or build or car (no air-wind or air condition blow) during change no problem. but not even IN or near smoking area. Just keep clean. IF you're outside with windy or windy with dirt from beach or desert even africa then WORST.
http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...highlight=dust

However, other Nikon users consider the problem minimal. My son is currently using a d70 and loves it: to him and many others, dust is just something you clean.

jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 4:29 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-jorgen

I think the current dust removal system is kinda ... 'unclear'

It just vibrates the CCD ... hoping that dust will 'fall off'.
It might ... but it still remains inside the camera body.

I think a better way would be to hide a some kind of vaccum
cleaner inside a 'lense' like arrangement which an be attached to
the body. The arrangement should then somehow discharge
the sensor and then vaccum clean it ... take the dust off from
the sensor, collect it somewhere. Then the arrangement can be
unmounted from the body and the collected dust can later be
dispersed far far away from the body.

Just my 2 pence worth of idea ...

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 5:16 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Default

Gaggu...I would suggest you to read steve's e500 review.

firstly, the CCD does not vibrate, the SuperSonic Wave Filter, that is located in beween the CCD and shutter vibrates and removes dust settled.

also " The CCD assembly is isolated from the Supersonic Wave Filter by an airtight seal to protect it even more".

I also learnt somewhere that there is a small two-sided tape on the floor of the camera below the filter to collect the dust falling off. (I am not sure about this, but it makes sense)

Hope that helps.
prajull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2006, 2:04 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
Mikefellh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,707
Default

Quote:
I think the current dust removal system is kinda ... 'unclear' It just vibrates the CCD ... hoping that dust will 'fall off'. It might ... but it still remains inside the camera body.
It's only unclear if you haven't read the information about it.

As for "hoping" it works, it works very well indeed...compared to some other dSLR users who get their dSLRs cleaned, or pay big bucks in sensor swabs, E-1 users who have owned their cameras since it came on the market have NEVER had to have their camera cleaned!

One point though, if you get something sticky on the sensor like pollen the SSWF can't do a thing for it...you would have to have it cleaned.

At my camera club others with newer cameras have shown images with specs of dust in them, personally mine have NONE!!!
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2006, 3:11 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
-=edge=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 220
Default

jorgen wrote:
Quote:
Revisiting dust: This is what a Nikon user writes:

Quote:
For dust on CCD. Well, not all. IF you want change lenses: before clean lenses and inside house or build or car (no air-wind or air condition blow) during change no problem. but not even IN or near smoking area. Just keep clean. IF you're outside with windy or windy with dirt from beach or desert even africa then WORST.
Wow....i'm really confused by that statement:O it sounds like one of those nigerian email scam guys wrote that...lol
-=edge=- is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:36 AM.