Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Oct 10, 2006, 8:19 PM   #1

I am a novice to DSLRs and one of the questions I have is how many oly users use the older lens with adapters...I know you would have to manually focus and meter, I assume it is cheaper to use these lens, what kind of results do you get. Pros and Cons...any pictures out there. Thanks, Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2006, 8:39 PM   #2

Well, I have several lenses; since I own a 35mm oly; but I have really only tested out a few so far..

The 135mm/3.5 has given me some were nice results, so far. This lens has made it from the shelve in my house, into my ''travel heavy'' bag for hiking and taking photos.

The 50mm/1.8 lens also has given me some very nice results, as a matter of fact, once I clean the several fish tanks in the house, I plan on spending a few hours getting photos of some of the fish I have. This lens has made it into my ''travel light'' bag.

I also have other lenses, just havent had the time to check them out yet. My wife did use one of the 200mm lenses; not sure which; but she got horrible results. I think that was in part due to the conditions she was shooting under.

I'll try and get some photos up asap of what I have been able todo with these lenses.

I'm also using a true oly adaptor, I have seen some 3rd party ones on ebay but havent tried any of them. I do know someone who did and they had to actually to take the camera to the repair shop because the adapter wouldnt release from the camera, but the lens released fine from the adaptor.. The shop said, it was the 'poor' design of the adaptor.

Anyway, I'll try to get those pictures up asap! And happy hunting down some oly lenses!!

Tat2dGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2006, 8:57 PM   #3

Thanks for the info, where did you get the adapter? Thanks, Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2006, 11:46 PM   #4