Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Nov 5, 2006, 6:15 AM   #1

I have yet to purchase a dSLR but from what I've researched, the E-500 is a good choice, and in about 3 minutes it's going to be on the annual Christmas list my wife has asked me to come up with.

I had considered going with the 2-lens kit but now I'm having second thoughts, having seen some reviews.

I've read the John Foster and J. Andrzej Wrotniak reviews, and both gentlemen agree that the 14-54 is better than the 14-45. (I'm an intermediate photographer.) My question is, while they have been tested against each other, have these lenses been in a shootout against aftermarket lenses, such as the comparable model from Sigma?
jbigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 5, 2006, 12:00 PM   #2

The fact is, the 2 lens kit is a great deal, because the telephoto comes in it for only $100 or so more, and if you tried to buy the 40-150 tele separately, it will cost you nearly $200 - and the body with 14-45 costs only around $50 to at most $100 more than the body alone would cost you.

What you should do is get the two lens kit, and see whether or not you are happy with the 14-45. I believe that you will definitely be happy with the 40-150.

If you are not pleased with the 14-45, you can easily sell it for $80 or so on ebay, and replace it with either of the better 11-22 or 14-54 lenses. (If you really know how to sell on ebay, you can get at least $100 for it by listing it with a buy now price and a high starting bid).

BTW, I did exactly this, after getting the 11-22, I sold the 14-45 on ebay, for over $100. So my 2 lens kit, gotten this way is the 11-22 and the 40-150. This ended up being alot cheaper than if I had bought the body, and both of the lenses separately

DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2006, 12:10 PM   #3