Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 9, 2006, 6:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

The subject is unimportant...just got the lens tonight and wanted to try manually focusing and see what the lens could do...with just available light. Donna
Attached Images
 
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2006, 7:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 198
Default

I see you were able to focus it properly (once you got the lens caps off). Take it out into daylight tomorrow.
DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2006, 8:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

Looking forward to just that. d onna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 11:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-Donna

Whats that adapter called ? What do I search for on e-bay ?

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 11:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 198
Default

Just go to the ebay search function and type:

"Nikon 4/3 adapter" and you'll get sent to about 10-20 listings of vendors that sell them, mostly Chinese vendors who have good feedback records. They tend to cost around $20 + $10 shipping.

The ones I got (and of which Donna now has one) was from a seller named Cirrusgao, but they all seem to be similar.
DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 12:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-Doug

Thanks for that.

Buhhtt ... the search brings out "Nikon AF to 4/3" as well
as "Nikon Lense to 4/3"

I believe AF doesn't work with that combo ? So which one
seems more correct ?

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 12:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 198
Default

All the adapters are the same - but some of the Chinese sellers have poor english skills. None of the adapters actually support AF functionality, but they all mount the AF and MF Nikon lenses (since Nikon preserved the mount moving from MF to AF).

As for individual adapters and sellers, you need to figure out for yourself if they are knowledgeable enough and honest enough to buy something from them. As I said before - I bought mine from a seller named Cirrusgao, but I have no way to know if some other seller's adapters are not better, or worse, or if they are better or worse to deal with.
DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 1:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-Doug
Thanks Doug ... I found the one from Cirrusgao.
The one which claims to make them with Brass Copper.

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 2:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 183
Default

-Doug

I am after this Nikkor 28mm f2.8.

The search on ebay shows up some AIS
Nikon lenses.

Are these the real Nikkor ones or is AIS
some historic 3rd party.

Edit:
Sorry for the stupid post. Just found out
what it is.

Cheers,
--
Gaggu
gaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2006, 4:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 198
Default

AIS is a specific generation of the Nikon mount - If it says Nikkor, it's the genuine article: There are several different variations but when being used on an Olympus DSLR camera, these variations don't matter - all of these versions are compatible with each other, and none of the extra features get used by the Olympus cameras with adapters

In fact, for the Nikkor 28mm f2.8, the AIS version of this lens is known to be the best version.

FYI:

Nikon F (also known as Non-AI, or pre-AI) This is the original Nikon SLR mount.
Nikon AI-mount - adds an Auto-Indexing (AI) feature for the lens maximum aperture
AI-S, or AIS: - adds a signalling notch to comminicate linear aperture movement

Those are the 3 generations of the Manual focus Nikon lenses - they all work the same on an Olympus, because the AI and AIS features aren't supported.
DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:22 PM.