Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Nov 24, 2006, 6:52 PM   #1

I recently purchased an Olympus Evolt 330. I am having focusing problems with it. Any one else have the same problem? I have been an amateur photographer for 40 years and have never experienced anything like this. The retail store has switched lenses wihout any difference. Any suggestions? Thanks
archelon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 24, 2006, 10:12 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the forums.

Are you sure it's a focusing issue? Sometimes if your shutter speed is too slow you may think it's Autofocus when it's something else (i.e., shutter speeds too slow causing blur from camera shake or subject movement). A common error is trying to take photos without a flash in less than optimum lighting (i.e., a typical indoor interiors) with ISO speed set too low.

Do you get a focus lock when you half press the shutter button?

You may want to give more details on what kind of problem you're seeing. It would probably be a good idea to post a sample image, too. You'll need to downsize it first before posting.

I typically use Irfanview for upsizing or downsizing images. It's a free tool with lots of uses:

http://www.irfanview.com

I usually make mine somewhere between 640 and 720 pixels wide.

To use it for resizing, simply open an image using File>Open.

Then, use the menu choice you'll find for Image>Resize/Resample

Click the "Set New Size" box, make the width around 640 to 720 pixels wide, with the "Preserve Aspect Ratio" box checked (so that it keeps the same dimensions of width to height) and click OK.

Then, use the File>Save As menu choice and give it a new name so that you don't overwrite your original. I'd make sure the file type is JPEG, and set the Image Quality slider you'll see to around 84% to make sure it's small enough for posting (images will need to about 240KB or smaller for posting here).