Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Dec 14, 2006, 5:55 AM   #1

HELP PLEASE...!!!

CAN SOMEONE TELL ME IF THE OLYMPUS E-500 CAN TAKE GOOD CLOSE UP PICTURES OF A WRISTWATCH...???

I AM NEW TO ALL THIS AND NEED SOME HELP ON GETTING THE RIGHT CAMERA.
:?
MANY THANKS
jwbenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 14, 2006, 11:58 AM   #2

First, please turn off the caps lock...it's like YELLING.

Second, the dSLR camera itself has nothing to do with whether it can do good closeups...unlike digicams that come with a permanent lens and you're stick with that choice, dSLRs have the option of using different types of lenses to do different types of jobs The kit lenses aren't really designed for closeup photography (although you could use the 40-150mm (80-300mm equivalent) at full zoom albeit at a fair distance), or since it's 8mp there's plenty you can crop to get the appearance of being closeup.

For closeup on the dSLR you have the option of closeup filters (called diopters) which makes the camera near sighted (and the longer zoom lens the better the magnification), the Olympus EX-25 extention tube (not so easy to use since you have to manually focus with most 4/3 lenses), or macro lenses (the 35mm or 50mm). Here's some links for knowledge:

http://olympusdigitalschool.com/phot...phy/index.html
http://olympusdigitalschool.com/phot...phy/index.html

and some general E-system info:
http://www.wrotniak.net/photo/oly-e/index.html
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 12:07 PM   #3

sorry....

many thanks for your help. so the E-500 camera is the one i'm going to get. but you say it's all about the lens.

The E-500 comes with a lens but it might not be suitable for the close up work i want to do with it???

will the pictures be ok.............or do i need to pay out for a great lens.???

sorry if i sound thick! i am just new to all this.:sad:

many thanks.