Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Apr 10, 2007, 9:44 PM   #1

I'm new to the macro world but am eager to improve.

Cheers

F/4

1/200

ISO 100
Attached Images

MacroLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 10, 2007, 9:51 PM   #2

F/5

1/250

ISO 200

I had a lot of trouble with the dragonflies because of wind and movement with only a 35mm. DoF was also a challenge but I guess that's the central crux of macro. I also wish this shot was a lot sharper.
Attached Images

Old Apr 11, 2007, 12:30 PM   #3

i have listed a question re the very set up you have, my question is at 35mm how close to the subject do you have to be, as a fella in the local camera shop claims between 4-6 inches, if that is the case, i would probably keep my current camera as there would not be a great deal of focusing distance to justify the out lay, can i ask how close you were to the drogonfly please, and how do you rateyour setup yourself, as in photographic terms i will be behind you and what you have achived my current camera is a canons3is

thanks, alan
jad123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2007, 6:26 AM   #4

You can't get it all sharp and that is not necessary either. The important thing is in photography of all living beings to get the eyes sharp - unless of course your photo is illustrating the structure of for example the wings.

I love the selective focusing of the flower. Very nice!

I have some macros in my macro category in my blog.

Jorgen
http://jorgen.photoblog.com/

jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2007, 6:32 AM   #5

jad123 wrote:
Quote: