Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jul 23, 2007, 8:51 PM   #1

Hi all as you can guess i'm quite new to dslr cameras (used Canon S3 before) I took some shots the other day in strong daylight and although quite happy with the general outcome, I found it difficult to raise the light levels on the face, so they appear dark. Any suggestions as to how I go about getting fill in flash to work to solve this problem, or any other work arounds. I have attached a couple of shots to show the problem. I have the olympusFL 36 flash unit, but cant make out how to get it to do fill in flash (bit slow me). Thanks for your help.

napper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 24, 2007, 12:31 AM   #2

Assuming you're using the E-510 from the data embeeded in your images (it always helps to mention what camera you're using for this type of question)...turn to page 40 of the E-510 manual, and there it tells you what symbol you should see for the fill-in flash mode on the camera (the camera will tell the FL-36 what to do).

Also you'll have to set the FL-36 to FP-TTL mode (so you can shoot at faster shutter speeds needed in daylight)...see page 29 of the FL-36 manual...push the MODE button until FP TTL AUTO appears on the flash.

Both the setting on the flash and camera have to be set back to normal for indoor shooting again.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2007, 1:32 AM   #3

Thanks Mikefellh just re read the manual for some reason in mine it is on pages 32 -34 and thanks to your comment i now understand the chart in the manual. I was using FP-TTL mode but in one place the Camera manual tells me to refer to the flash gun manual and the flash manual just tells me what modes are available not how to get to them! soiwas going round in circles.
Old Jul 24, 2007, 3:15 AM   #4
OCD

Yes the manuals are printed differently between the USA/Canada and the UK so the page numbers don't match.