Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Dec 27, 2007, 12:28 PM   #1

Can anyone tell the ideal setting for file sizes on the E510 or what are the advantages or disadvantages of various settings .a relative who has one of these has asked me and as I am new to Digital I dont know.At the moment he has his camera set at SQ 2580-1920 1/8. I have this camera on my short list to buy soI am very interested.

deadshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2007, 1:04 PM   #2

Set it on the highest setting SHQ giving an image of 3648 x 2736 pixels. You can always lower the number of pixels, while you of course can't add to them.

When you have used the camera for a while and are happy with your results, you can experiment with RAW to see if this improves your results. Search Google for "jpg raw" and you will have plenty of reading material. Personally I don't see much difference, but then again I go for rather contrasty shots; Olympus cameras have an excellent JPG conversion engine. RAW takes up lots of space and takes longer to load.

Jorgen
http://www.photoblog.com/jorgen

jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2007, 6:06 PM   #3

deadshot wrote:
Quote:
Can anyone tell the ideal setting for file sizes on the E510 or what are the advantages or disadvantages of various settings .a relative who has one of these has asked me and as I am new to Digital I dont know.At the moment he has his camera set at SQ 2580-1920 1/8. I have this camera on my short list to buy soI am very interested.

IMO, the ideal file size depends on what you're going to do with the final photo. If the answer is email them around, a smaller file size would be better, although as jorgen said, you can always downsize them later. If the answer is blow them up and print them, the bigger the better. One must also consider the size of the memory card... you don't want to run out of room before you're finished shooting.