Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Dec 31, 2007, 7:40 PM   #1

Happy new Year All !

I did my third full fashion/portrait shoot yesterday and for most of the time kept the 35-100F2 on the E1 and occasionaly swapped it with the 14-54ZD. I'm still astounded by how sharp the 35-100 is and the quality of the files when compared to the 14-54Zd that I began thinking about the 14-35F2 towards the end of the shoot:

If the 14-35F2 was as good as the 35-100F2 would I buy one assuming I was a Pro portrait/fashion photographer ? If I was a pro and I wanted the same look to the files that the 35-100 produces then I think I would have to get the 14-35 even though I think at 2000USD its way over priced and I'm beginning to think even the clients would begin to demand it too.

I've shown the pic's shot with the 35-100F2 to the two models involved and they've been shocked that they were taken with a 5.5MP 3year old camera.

Here's a shot of "T" taken with the 35-100F2 - Just 50% USM. Shot RAW

Cheers

HarjTT

:? :O

HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2007, 9:35 PM   #2

Hi H:

And happy New Year to you!

Here's another wish for the new year (probably unattainable as I can't justify the price): the ED 7-14mm F4.0

Best wishes;

Steve R.

Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2007, 11:30 PM   #3

hi Harj
happy new year folks
i would think 14-35/2 and 35-100/2 are required for wedding/fashion gigs
portriats it seems to me can be facilitated in more time, so perhaps your choice of MF lens, not that either of those wont work out, just that some bucks could be saved on the way. In any event 14-35/2 would be cheaper than 35-100/2 by a mile, you could consider 50/2 on the same basis which is very cheap.

thats a nice tight frame Harj and well lit, what was the lighting source, and what have you learned from all this ?

Riley