Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Apr 20, 2008, 10:50 PM   #1

Howdy! I've been gone for a while for work, but while on my trip my E500 went from taking good shots to taking out of focus shots. I reset to factory settings, shot in full auto mode, kit lens with no filters, and everything else I could think of to no avail. Thoughts? Does the auto-focus part need cleaning, tuning, something? Is a contact bad? Do I need a new camera :-)

Tommy O
[line]
PLTommyO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2008, 11:48 PM   #2

I am no expert,but I would first try it with another lens,or not having one, I would clean the contacts with an eraser. I would then raise the mirror and gently blow any dust/dirt from behind the sensor. Also,be sure when removing the lens, they say to turn off the camera before doing so.
Kanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2008, 11:55 PM   #3

Is your lens moving or not moving when you half-press the shutter release? Do you have the camera set to manual focus?

If your lens is NOT moving and you have it set to autofocus:
- I assume you made sure your lens and body electrical contacts were clean, and you aren't touching the "lens release" button when using the camera.

- Does your f/stop number actually show a number or does it show "- - -"...try turning the lens (the entire lens, not just the zoom or focus ring) WITHOUT pressing the "lens release" button, and see if that locks the lens into position...the lens won't work if it's not locked in place.

- Do you have another lens you can try...maybe it's the lens that's bad.

- If you passed all of that and if your lens is still not moving then it's time for a trip to the repair outlet.

If your lens is moving, but it can't get a focus lock: