Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jun 3, 2008, 9:56 PM   #1

Hey guys,

I am a new guy and I have been slowly reading a lot of the threads here getting good info and such. I do have some questions though.

I am new to photography and its slowly becoming a great hobby for me. By far my favorite types of shots are Macros. Here is one of my first macro shots and it came out great!
stock 40-150mm

Now I want to get a bit more closer to my subject so I started to research the best and most cost effective equpiment. I have found so far things like

Macro Lens Caps <---- these things are stackable, looks crappy do they work well?
Extensions (ex-25)
Auto Extensions
and other various equpiment.

What do you all suggest? Yes budgeting is an issue currently but looking to go 300mm in the near future.
signalsoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2008, 10:35 PM   #2

The screw in closeup lenses are probably the cheapest way to go. The EX25 extension tube gets you really close without adding extra glass to the process like the closeup lenses and it works great. At the 40mm end of your 40-150, you can almost touch the subject with the EX25 fittedand be in focus.

By the time you zoom out to 150mm, you still canstill focus very close but have amuch better/longerworking distance to keep subjects like bugs from moving away by staying out of their "comfort zone". The 70-300 Zuiko with the EX25 and zoomed out to 250-300mmis outstanding for doingshots like that...

Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2008, 6:05 AM   #3

good morning,

In addition to equipment , lighting is also important as is how to set up your shot. Olympus has a Photo tutorial website with a lot of good information on various aspects of photography-includedare acouple on shootingmacro.

http://www.olympusdigitalschool.com/...phy/index.html

good luck

Zig
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote