Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Oct 9, 2008, 4:06 PM   #1

Hello everyone, I am a retired Police Officer from NC. I have an Olympus E-500. It came with the 2 standard lens. The 14-45 and the 40-150. I wanted to know how good of a camera people think this is. I'm considering the new Olympus E-3 but if the E-500 is good enough I will just stick with it and upgrade with some better lens. I would also like to know what lens would work best for nature scenes. The 3rd question I had is regarding a tele-converter. How does that work? You get a teleconverter for an existing lens or buy a bigger lens that is compatible with the converter? Thanks David.
outdoorsur is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 9, 2008, 5:04 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome. You'll probably have a better chance of getting responses to your questions in our Olympus dSLR Forum, where Olympus dSLR owners are more likely to see them. So, I'll move this thread there for you now.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 8:17 PM   #3

...hi David,

You are in the 'right' forum for plenty of advice regarding your camera, the other Oly DSLRs, your lenses and most all the other Olympus lenses and accessories.

I have the E-300, an E-3 and the two(2) lenses you have which are quite good and have a permanent place in my bag. I also have the 50-200 ZD non-SWD which is just a terrific lens for about any photography where more than 100mm can be an advantage. It is my favorite long reach lens but I do have the ever popular 70-300ZD which IMO, and certain others you will hear from, may be the best of the bunch for the cost of it.

Anyway, just wanted to say hi, welcome and get ready....you will likely get some good info here. There are some E-500 cheerleaders too.

Thanks for checking in.........
Old Oct 9, 2008, 9:08 PM   #4