Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Oct 13, 2008, 10:01 PM   #1

hello everyone.

I currently own a nikon d50 and have been seriously considering jumping into the four thirds system. I am, however, concerned about one factor: resolution. though I'm an advanced amateur, I do prize resolution above other things, and I do occasionally use photography in my work (I'm an architect and often do 3d photo-insertions and so on). my 3d images output is usually 5000px on its longest side, so that it can be used for banners and so forth. and that's been a down side for me. olympus currently offers 10 mp cameras, and, in my case, the extra megapixels above and below due to the 4:3 ratio is of little use since I usually use 3:2 or wider. so, though 12 or 14 megapixels don't sound that much more than 10 megapixels, a k20d does provide a 28% wider/longer print than an e520 at any given output resolution.

so, the e520 did its homework by increasing dynamic range and catching up with the competition in terms of noise. but what can be said about resolution in the 4/3s system in the years to come?

cheers.
kezs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 14, 2008, 3:30 PM   #2

kezs wrote:
Quote:
hello everyone.