Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Feb 26, 2009, 6:13 PM   #1

I'm new to DSLR cameras so bare with me on this. On my E-500 with the 40-150mm lens on(the only one that works) when I try to use manual focus, I look through the viewfinder and you can turn the focus ring till your fingers drop off and there is no visible change to anything I can see. I've used regular SLR cameras for years and they are so easy to focus. I went out to my backyard and tried to take a picture of my shed with manual focus, I took about 25 pics and not one of them was in focus. Is there some secret to focusing a DSLR? I have read the manual but there is nothing on manual focusing. I even had a friend of mine look through the viewfinder and try it and he couldn't see any change either.
r1wigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2009, 8:10 PM   #2

A few things:

What do you mean that the 40-150mm lens is "the only one that works"? Is it the only lens you have or is there a problem with the standard lens?

Does your E500 work OK when using autofocus?

The E500 viewfinder (and most DSLR viewfinders in general) aren't optimized for manual focus. It's not like the good old days with the split image surrounded by ground glass and a fresnel lens. It can be difficult to observe the quality of the focus...especially with a long lens that may display a relatively limited effective depth of field (i.e., it's easier to go right past the point of best focus). Try focussing on a well lighted, contrasty subject just to make sure things are working (something like a chain link fence or numbers on a house).

There is no mechanical linkage between the E500 body and the 40-150mm. It's all "fly-by-wire". Turning the focus ring activates the lens focus motor and it can feel odd...like you are continuously turning the focus ring. And that might cause you go right past the focus.