Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old May 21, 2009, 6:33 PM   #1

Default C & C required - 3 large images!

Went to look for a few birds near my sisters in Chigwell - theres a wee pond and that attracts some ducks and a nice view of the local church. E3 + 35-100F2.

1. E3 - out of cam jpeg.

2. RAW to Jpeg using LR2.3 - my default pp in LR and 50% USM in PSHop

3. RAW to Jpeg using LR2.3 - my default pp in LR but with LR's gradient tool being applied + 50% USM in PSHop

What do you guys and gals think about the LR conversions, esp the last one with the gradient tool being used ? All CC is going to be really appreciated.

Cheers

Harj

Last edited by HarjTT; May 21, 2009 at 6:39 PM.
HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2009, 9:42 PM   #2

Hi Harj,

I'm by no means an expert as anyone looking at my images knows but I'll give it a go and tell you what I 'see'.

Of the three, I like the last image pp'd without the unsharp mask @50%.
I'm looking at the evergreens in front of the steeple and the surrounding trees and I see an improvement in this area in 3 as opposed to image 2 which, to my eyes looks, a bit over processed.

Also, while you were specific about what you wanted forum members to comment on, I can't help but say that I think I would crop this shot a bit differently.

I don't know if this was what you were looking for, but I hope it helps.

Zig
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2009, 7:45 PM   #3

I think the real story is how well the in cam jpeg looks straight out of the camera.
Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2009, 2:31 PM   #4

Hi Guys

Thanks for the comments - I'm not 100% sure on which I really prefer - I'm kind of going with zig on No3 and No. 3 was a first attempt at using LR's grad tool:

http://lightroom-news.com/wp-content.../gradsmall.mov