Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Sep 24, 2009, 12:20 PM   #1

Default 18-50mm Sigma no 12-60mmZD lens Yes!

Yesterday , at this time, I thought I was pretty satisfied with the Sigma 18-50mm 2.8 EX DC lens. The more I used it and tried various focal lengths, the more I missed the the lower focal range of the 14-54mm. 4mm doesn't sound like much. That is, until you're trying to fit a landscape shot.

I then started looking at the possibility of getting an 11-22mm ZD or an 9-18mm lens and quickly found out that a used 11-22mm doesn't come cheap. Then it struck me that what I really wanted all along was a 12-60mm ZD. I just hadn't give it much thought because of price. Well, an 11-22 combined with the 18-50mm Sigma was going to end up costing more. Not to mention the fact that I now was going to carry add'l gear- something I think I have too much of now.

I did something last night that I've never done before and that was to return a product that was working well - it just wasn't the right one. Luckily, I was able to return the Sigma and replace it with the 12-60.

The UPS driver dropped off the 12-60 and picked up the Sigma this morning. This lens after trying it out some, for me, is the right lens. It's beautifully made, AF speed is the fastest that I've seen on an Oly body, results are as you would expect. It was, in the end, the right thing to do.

But then, those of you who already have one know that.

Zig
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2009, 1:04 PM   #2