Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Oct 17, 2009, 8:55 AM   #1

Default The birds are back

Since Fall has arrived here on Cape Cod, I thought I'd clean up the bird feeder, buy some seed and have a crack at taking some bird photos again.

If anyone is interested in getting totally frustrated, but in the process, hone their skills at taking shots quickly, adjusting (quickly) their camera to ever changing light conditions, learning how to operate their dslr in manual mode and generally becoming a better photographer, shooting birds is certainly one way to go about it.

Now, I'm not saying I'm a good photographer, I just know, that my skill set has improved immensely at anticipating what's going to happen next, where the bird is likely to go, what they are likely to do, how to work the controls on my camera, etc.

Songbirds are especially interesting to me. Simply because they are very pretty and generally very social. AND, they remember where the feeders are. I haven't used the feeder since last June. Yet, I filled the feeder yesterday and this morning at gray light I had a full range of birds that showed up and had breakfast. A great way to wake up and have your first cup of coffee.

Anyways, a few picks from this morning. Bear in mind that it is raining, the skies are overcast, it's quite dark. Generally lousy conditions for shooting birds. Camera; E-30 with 50-200mm ED lens mounted on tripod. IS enabled. I have to say that I always have IS enabled-even when using the tripod. I'm convinced that it is better to leave the IS enabled despite what I've read.

Manual mode, F3.5, 1/100sec, ISO 1000 focal length 96mm

Bear in mind, I'm shooting through a storm window.

Last edited by zig-123; Oct 17, 2009 at 10:53 AM.
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2009, 11:52 AM   #2

WOW! Great shots Zig! The exposure is bang on! Beautiful color and very sharp!

- Hiro