Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Dec 15, 2009, 7:53 PM   #1

Default Total newbie

Hey all. I am a total newbie to photography. Well maybe not completely. I had a film SLR many many years ago, and have forgotten most things.

I have a Ricoh DC-2 digital point and shoot type camera. Its gotta be over 10 years old and I don't think there is anything "mega" about the pixels
The software is for Win95 yep, Win95. It works on my XP box, but that will probably be the last of it.

Anyways on to the future! I decided to step way up and go for the Oly E-30. Just ordered it tonight. The standard camera kit with the 14-42mm lens. If things go well with the tax refund - I'll be looking at the 55-300 lens. I am really enjoying Gary's shots with it.

I have a long way to go. Do y'all want a total newbie here or would you rather wait till I have a few months under my belt? It is OK to say come back later - I would understand.

--Tim
tames is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2009, 8:02 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by tames View Post
Hey all. I am a total newbie to photography. Well maybe not completely. I had a film SLR many many years ago, and have forgotten most things.

I have a Ricoh DC-2 digital point and shoot type camera. Its gotta be over 10 years old and I don't think there is anything "mega" about the pixels
The software is for Win95 yep, Win95. It works on my XP box, but that will probably be the last of it.

Anyways on to the future! I decided to step way up and go for the Oly E-30. Just ordered it tonight. The standard camera kit with the 14-42mm lens. If things go well with the tax refund - I'll be looking at the 55-300 lens. I am really enjoying Gary's shots with it.

I have a long way to go. Do y'all want a total newbie here or would you rather wait till I have a few months under my belt? It is OK to say come back later - I would understand.

--Tim