Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jan 14, 2010, 5:01 PM   #1

Default OT: US Cell Phone Providers did incredibly well

for Haiti earthquake fundraising. 24 hours after the quake, they had set up a system where folks could text a $10 donation to the Red Cross and others from their cell phones, and have it billed to their cell phone accounts. (Dunno if this also happened in other countries.)

I mention this only because I am a senior manager in a software development company and I'm wondering if folks on this forum really understand the effort that took. The cell phone providers had to reconfigure their financial systems, which are locked down at a CMMi level 4 or 5. So what you see here is a commitment from the CEOs on down thru the management chain to the developers, to shove aside everything they were doing and make that work. The developers had to have spent a 24-hour day to get the change thru development, QA testing, and into their production financial systems. Trust me, that was an amazing effort. I am very impressed.

Ted

PS to keep this on topic, one could assume that some of the developers use Oly cameras...

(grin)
tkurkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2010, 5:05 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkurkowski View Post
for Haiti earthquake fundraising. 24 hours after the quake, they had set up a system where folks could text a $10 donation to the Red Cross and others from their cell phones, and have it billed to their cell phone accounts. (Dunno if this also happened in other countries.)