Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Mar 21, 2010, 9:29 AM   #1

Default The first spring flower in my yard

So wooohooo I started playing with the E3, 14-35 + EX25. This daffodil was about 10" above the ground so the tricky part was the sticks. The Slik 700 won't go down that low even with the legs spread - the center column is too long. So I put the whole rig on the baby Slik and it held although it wasn't happy. I set the E3 on timed shutter release to let any vibration damp out. This flower is less than 2" wide. As usual with the EX25, not much DOF...

Ted

PS: Comments/advice are welcome
Attached Images

Last edited by tkurkowski; Mar 21, 2010 at 12:56 PM.
tkurkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 21, 2010, 2:57 PM   #2

Ted, I hope you don't mind but I tweaked you picture to add more pop to it. The focus and composition are great but to me it's a bit flat. Just personal preference but I like more contrast in my images, helps to define the bits of the flower. On a related note, I would've just shot on my belly with a bounce or ring flash and saved the agrivation of the tripod, but again it's just personal preference.

John
Attached Images

jelow1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 4:05 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jelow1966 View Post
Ted, I hope you don't mind but I tweaked you picture to add more pop to it. The focus and composition are great but to me it's a bit flat. Just personal preference but I like more contrast in my images, helps to define the bits of the flower.
John
John, I don't mind at all, I appreciate it - thanks - I like yours better. Did you just tweak the contrast in PShop? I shot this at sunrise (when the wind is still) and was futzing around in ACR for a while. I think I ran out of gas (I got up at 3am to do a prayer shift at the Temple) but you showed me I should have tweaked it more.