Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old May 10, 2010, 6:09 PM   #1

Default DxO Optics for UWA lenses

Many of you know about using DxO for correcting distortion in photos from UWA lenses (like the ZD 9-18mm) but some of you may not so I figured I'd post this.

I've been trying to shoot the front of my house, which faces north so never gets sunlight and I found that at sunrise it does get a bit of sunlight now. But my point is that from the street, the front of the house is 1 storey higher so when you shoot it with a UWA lens it's pretty distorted (as are most objects when a UWA lens is tilted up from horizontal). I'm not expecting that anyone but me particularly cares about this subject, but you might find it interesting to know what DxO can do. (I was mainly doing this shot to see how to use DxO.)

Besides correcting UWA distortion it has a myriad of PP options which I'm still learning, but out of the box it does do a good job on UWA distortion correction.

The first shot below is the jpeg out of the E-3, and the second is corrected in DxO (mostly with the default DxO PP corrections, some initial tweaking by me).

Ted
Attached Images

Last edited by tkurkowski; May 10, 2010 at 6:16 PM.
tkurkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2010, 9:14 PM   #2

that's cool!

How much does it cost??
Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 5:52 AM   #3

Hi Ted,

That software looks interesting. Thanks for the heads up and posting the results.

Zig
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 6:16 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven R View Post
that's cool!

How much does it cost??
They test mainstream lenses and create presets for them. So it's not cheap - $200. That includes presets and it really is a PP application - more than just UWA keystone distortion correction. It just has the reputation of being better at that than anyone else.

Ted