Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Dec 12, 2010, 10:15 AM   #1

Default What lense for an indoor hockey game ?

I am going to a Calgary Hitmen hockey game tonight.
In the Calgary Saddle Dome.
I thought I would bring my E-520 with a 40-150 or 70-300
I am sitting in row 10 not to far up.
Which lense works better in low light ?
Probally wide open, ISO 800 and shutter 800 or 1000 if that can be pulled off ?

Thanks in advance
Fred..
FredS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 12, 2010, 11:14 AM   #2

Hi Fred,

I'm no hockey expert. The fellow here who has done extensive work photographing NHL hockey games is Greg Chappell. Here is a link to his most recent post in the micro fourthirds forum complete with photos and explanation.

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/ol...hl-action.html

He has also used the E-30 and E-620 dslrs as well. Her is a link to his hockey gallery images on Smugmug.com

http://gmchappell.smugmug.com/Sports...26276321_p3Bss

I can only add that if I were going to the hockey game, I would take the 40-150mm. If it is the older vesion, it's a stop faster on both ends than the 70-300mm. Be prepared to shoot at ISO 1600 and 2000 and doing some noise cleanup in pp.

Zig

So you want to be a better photographer? Open your eyes and take a look at what is all around you.
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2010, 11:30 AM   #3

I'll go with the 40-150 (hoping it is the Mark I) as the 70-300 is way too slow. The 12-60 will be better but not that much.
folob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2010, 12:04 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by folob View Post
I'll go with the 40-150 (hoping it is the Mark I) as the 70-300 is way too slow. The 12-60 will be better but not that much.
It is the MK II. f 4-5.6 ( not the best )

Fred..
Old Dec 12, 2010, 12:15 PM   #5