Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Dec 28, 2010, 9:47 AM   #1

Default A question about flash

I'm new to dSLR cameras, so I don't know much. I have an Olympus e-450, and when I try to take a picture of my dog with all the auto settings on, the camera flashes like 6 times when trying to focus, then it takes the picture. This often scares my dog, and I can't get a good picture... but when I turn flash off, the lighting isn't good enough for a decent picture. Is there anything I can do to lessen all those flashes to get a good picture of my dog?
rawrkayx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2010, 10:26 AM   #2

I'm not for sure when I say this but, I believe that since it doesn't have an Auto-focus assist light, it uses the flash to provide light for the camera to focus.
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 10:43 AM   #3

Is there a way I can manually focus it, do you think?
rawrkayx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 10:46 AM   #4

You really need to get one of the accessory flash units. The FL36R being the most economical Olympus unit in terms of price.

That flashing is the cameras' flash system assisting for focus, which is a royal PITA.

The FL36R uses a near-infrared AF assist light that does not strobe and will not scare your dog.

The only other thing to keep in mind if you buy the flash is, TTL flash does require a pre-flash to set the exposure, which can sometimes lead to both animals and people blinking when the exposure is actually taken, so you have to change from TTL flash to non-TTL auto, which is shown on the flash modes as "auto". That will eliminate the pre-flash and give you pictures of your dog with his/her eyes open if TTL flash causes them to close.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2010, 10:48 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawrkayx View Post